Nevis
Admin
Admin

Have thanks: 683 times
Highscores: 20

Advertisement

Pat Ritter. Books

Postby patritter » Wed Dec 14, 2011 10:41 pm

My ambitions to be a writer probably started in my teens. You may remember we wrote 'compositions' at school consisting of a beginning, a middle and a end. Not much different today.

In 1964 I was a student at Sandgate High School, a beachside suburb north of Brisbane. Our English teacher Mr Imoff. I remember we wrote a story about a topic he gave us. I never understood English. I understood the meaning of a 'noun' and 'verb' but the other learnings were almost non-existant. I wanted to write my way.

After he gave us a topic, I wrote what I thought I should write, in my own words, about the topic. After we handed the pieces of writing to him, he came to me and said, 'you have a gift for writing. You write the way you speak which is unique.'

I didn't know if he was praising my writing or telling me I needed have to learn English. Anyway, this was my initial introduction to becoming a writer. Looking back at the time I wish he would've explained more his reason for sharing this 'gift' with me.

Jump ahead twenty years. I joined the Queensland Police Service (Force as it was known then) and introduced to report writing. This was a leap into the unknown. Over the years I gained confidence in my writing by practicing various styles of report writing and reading as many as possible reports furnished by more experienced officers.

Tomorrow I'll share with you how I came to write my first book.
TO PURCHASE THIS BOOK
Pat Ritter Books then click.... PRB

For this message the author patritter has received thanks: 6
brillo, dub, giai, Mary, mzawf, wired
patritter
mzawfer
mzawfer

Have thanks: 1876 times

Re: Pat Ritter. Books

Postby Nevis » Thu Dec 15, 2011 1:23 pm

Hello Pat.
Good to hear from you. I can't wait for your next post :thunbsup Welcome aboard buddy :scarf :-D

For this message the author Nevis has received thanks: 4